2019 Design Thinking Challenge Winners


Davin (Hyde Middle School) showing off part of his and Owen’s (Herbert Hoover Middle School) prototype and winning idea.

Congratulations to the 2019 Dare 2B Digital Design Challenge winners! In this Challenge, young innovators who attend middle schools and high schools in the Silicon Valley were asked to form teams (2-5 students) and develop an innovative and feasible solution in one of five categories: Transportation, Environment, Cybersecurity, Cryptocurrency/Microfinance & Space Exploration.

The winners were announced at the 2019 Dare 2B Digital Conference and Design Challenge held at PayPal headquarters in San Jose, California, on Saturday, March 2nd, 2019. Judges from industry reviewed the presentation from each of the teams and selected eight winning teams. The Challenge submissions were scored based on Originality of their Idea; Use and Application of S.T.E.A.M. (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Mathematics) skills; Feasibility and Potential Impact. The eight winning teams are as follows:

Lockheed Martin Winners

Saurav & Rohan

WhatsApp Winners

Havi & Leo

Tesla Energy Winners

Anish & Cairo

PayPal Mobile Winners

Davin & Owen

Tesla Autopilot Winners

Hrishi & Hunter

Tesla Vehicle Winners

Adarsh, Johnathan, & Nikhil

PayPal Cyber Winners

Jenna & Viet

PayPal Cyber Winners

Linus, Lara, Nikhil, & Smrithi

About Dare 2B Digital

Recognized by the California State Legislature as a premier kids’ interactive learning program for exploring careers in Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Math (S.T.E.A.M.), Dare 2B Digital (www.dare2bdigital.org @dare2bdigital) inspires young innovators through interactive, hands-on learning experiences. Dare 2B Digital is a program of the Invent Your Future Foundation, a 501(c)3 non-profit organization presented by Invent Your Future Enterprises (www.inventyourfuture.com @IYFNews).